Police Department


It is the mission of the Norwalk Police Department to provide quality service to a diverse community through a culture of bias free policing; to hire and promote talented officers and a professional staff with the courage and desire to serve and protect our community; and to promote a cooperative spirit in which police officers and citizens work together to promote a safe environment.

 ANNOUNCEMENT***On March 24, 2018, the Norwalk Department of Police Service received an award for its seventh reaccreditation from the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA), the gold standard for professional excellence2018 CALEA Award
Norwalk CT Police Patch


The Norwalk Department of Police Services provides protective and support services to the City of Norwalk and its citizens. It contains eight divisions:

Department Oversight

The Board of Police Commissioners oversees the development and financial aspects of the Norwalk Department of Police Services. Members include City Mayor Harry Rilling, Commissioner Charles Yost and Commissioner Fran Collier-Clemmons.

The department is headed by Police Chief Thomas E. Kulhawik and Deputy Police Chiefs Susan Zecca and James Wlash. Access additional information about the Police Department's highest office.

Accreditation Status
The Norwalk Department of Police Services is accredited by the Commission on Law Enforcement Accreditation, Inc. (CALEA).

Annual Report

Click Here For 2018 Annual Report