If motor vehicle taxes are unpaid, you will be unable to renew vehicle, snowmobile, or vessel registrations with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), per Connecticut General Statute 14-33. Past due motor vehicle taxes must be paid in full by cash, cashiers' check, money order, MasterCard, VISA, debit card, or ATM card in order to receive DMV clearance. You also must pay a fee of $5 per vehicle, per year in order to be cleared to register at the DMV.
If you pay with an ‘E Check’, you must provide proof your check has cleared your bank before receiving clearance. All DMV clearances are now processed electronically, online, overnight.
If you pay back taxes in person today, your clearance will be processed overnight, and you will be clear to register at DMV the following business day.
If you need a clearance today, and cannot wait for the overnight clearance, you can request an "Express" DMV clearance for an additional fee of $20, payable to the City of Norwalk. This service may not always be available depending on our staffing, as not all staff members have access to the DMV system, and the DMV system may not always be functional and accessible.
If you pay your motor vehicle taxes online or by telephone, you must allow at least TWO business days for the steps that need to be taken to process your payment (first) and submit clearance to DMV (second). All outstanding vehicle taxes in your name, including taxes not yet delinquent, must be paid in full for a release to be issued.
The state of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles encourages taxpayers to try to do transactions on line, when possible, to avoid standing in line at the DMV branches. Access the Department of Motor Vehicles on line from the link on the tax collector's home page. You can check compliance status (property taxes, insurance, emissions, etc.), renew or cancel license plates, change information DMV has on file for you or your vehicles, and more.
If you have questions about what you owe, please contact the tax collector's office at (203) 854-7731 or by fax at (203) 854-7770. You may also access your property tax bill online.
View additional methods for paying your taxes.
Show All Answers
If any of these situations applies to you, you may be entitled to a credit. Contact the assessor's office for information regarding the acceptable forms of proof for the issuance of a credit. Two forms of written proof are required, and you must apply for the credit within a limited time.
The most convenient way to pay your tax bill is by mail, or by ACH payment (E Check). A courtesy reply envelope is included with your tax bill if you wish to pay by mail. Be sure to write your list numbers on your check. List numbers are shown on your payment coupons.
If you wish to have a receipt returned to you, please send the entire lower portion of your tax bill (both payment coupons) and a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your payment. You may expect to receive a receipt back within a few days. We will not send back your receipt if you fail to include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Payments legibly postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service on or before Monday, February 3, 2020 (because February 1 fell on a Saturday) are on time, regardless of when they are received by the Tax Collector’s office. For your own benefit, obtain a ‘receipt of mailing’ from the U.S. Postal Service when mailing your payment if you choose to mail your payment close to the deadline.
For a modest fee of $1.50, you may pay by ACH payment (E Check) from our website. This affords you the certainty that your payment has been received, eliminates anxiety and worry about mail delivery, eliminates the burden of going to city hall or one of the local banks to pay in person, and allows you to process the transaction at a time that is convenient to you. There are links to pay on line on the tax collector’s home page.
During the collection period only (from the time new tax bills are mailed through the last day to pay), taxpayers may pay their tax bills at area banks. You do not have to be a customer of the bank in order to pay there, and there is no charge to you for this service. This service will again become available when the new tax bills are issued in June, 2020.
The second installment came due on January 1, 2020, and was payable without interest by February 3, 2020 (because this year, February 1 fell on a Saturday). Once past due (Feb. 4 and later) interest is charged at the rate of 1.5% per month from the due date (January 1). A portion of a month is considered a full month. So, on February 4, interest is charged at the rate of 3% . That rate will be charged up to and including February 29, 2020.
Tax statements sent in December 2019 showed interest due through January 31, 2020, and payments and adjustments posted as of November 26, 2019 only.
Taxpayers making payment on past due bills should now contact the tax collector’s office, or check the city website, before making their payment, to determine exactly what they owe. Past due notices are sent in September and in February. Lien continuing certificates are filed in mid March.
This year, delinquent notices, called demand notices, are being mailed beginning February 20, 2020. They bear interest good through March 31, 2020, but bear a ’pay by’ date of March 11, 2020, because after that date, liens will be filed. There will be an additional charge of $24 to release the lien filed on applicable tax bills if payment is received after March 11, 2020. Demand notices show payments posted through February 13, 2020 only.
Interest is charged on all late payments regardless of the reason. For additional information about these specifics please refer to the tax collector’s legal notices published on the tax collector’s home page.